IPL 2021: 10 longest sixes hit in the history of the league

The South African all-rounder Albie Morkel is at the top of the list for the longest sixes hit in the history of IPL.


IPL 2021: Year after year, the Indian Premier League (IPL2021) has treated its fans to displays of magnificent batting and superb bowling. The most enticing feature of the game’s shortest type, without a doubt, is the abundance of sixes that it provides.

IPL 2021
IPL 2021

Over the years, the IPL has featured some explosive batting from hard-hitters of the cricket pitch. Despite the fact that there have been several sixes, there are a few maximums in the history of the IPL that will be remembered for years to come in the cash-rich league. That being said, here are the ten longest sixes reached in the Indian Premier League’s 13-year history.

MS Dhoni – 112 meters: IPL 2012

MS Dhoni, a batting powerhouse, has the ability to demolish any bowling attack on his own. MS Dhoni smashed a big maximum off pacer James Franklin’s bowling during the eliminator game between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians. The ball soared out of the arena, measuring a whopping 112 metres.

VIDEO: MS Dhoni smashed a 102m six against Sunrisers Hyderabad
Rohit Sharma – 115 meters: IPL 2009

In 2009, while playing for the Deccan Chargers in the IPL, Rohit Sharma smacked a big six off the bowling of KKR’s Mashrafe Mortaza.

In the final over of a nail-biting game against the KKR franchise, Rohit Sharma smashed the ball out of the ground, measuring 115 metres. The hit finally helped his team get closer to the playoffs while also handing KKR their ninth consecutive loss in 2009.

217 sixes in 3 years: Birthday boy Rohit Sharma is a six-hitting machine -  Sports News
Ben Cutting – 117 meters: IPL 2016

On the night of the final, the tall Australian all-rounder hit the longest six of the IPL 2016. During the game’s penultimate over, when RCB’s Shane Watson bowled a full toss, Cutting smashed the delivery over square leg for a massive six. The ball flew over the boundary, measuring 117 metres.

IPL 2018, DD vs MI: Ben Cutting's wicket in the last over is the SK Turning  Point
Yuvraj Singh – 118 meters: IPL 2009

May we talk about sixes without mentioning Yuvraj Singh? Certainly not! Yuvraj Singh smashed a big six off the bowling of Albie Morkel while playing for the Kings XI Punjab in the IPL in 2009. The six over mid-wicket measured 119 metres and is now one of the longest in the game’s history.

Yuvraj Singh Hits Four Consecutive Sixes in Road Safety Series Game Against  South Africa | India legends vs South Africa Legends | RSWS 2021 | Yuvi
Ross Taylor – 119 meters: IPL 2008

Ross Taylor smashed a wide hit off the bowling of CSK’s Jacob Oram while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the inaugural edition of the IPL. The 119-meter-long monstrous six sailed out of the arena.

Chris Gayle – 119 metres – IPL 2013

If six striking is an art form, Chris Gayle is the Picasso of it. In 2013, the hard-hitting Caribbean faced Ali Murtaza of the Pune Warriors in the IPL. He crushed a jaw-dropping hit that soared over the stadium roof and weighed a whopping 119 metres.

Chris Gayle should start from game one in IPL 2021: Ness Wadia | Cricket  News - Times of India
Robin Uthappa – 120 metres – IPL 2010

Robin Uthappa is not well-known in the world of cricket as a slog batsman. Surprisingly, the batsman owns the record for the fourth longest six in IPL history.

In an IPL game against CSK in 2010, Robbie lost his cool and smacked a humongous 120-meter six off Dwayne Bravo’s bowling. The ball, unsurprisingly, landed outside the stadium.

Adam Gilchrist – 122 metres: IPL 2011

Batting at No. 3 for the Kings XI Punjab franchise, Australian legend Adam Gilchrist smashed a 122-meter six off the bowling of RCB’s Charl Langeveldt.

His six is ten years old, but it is still one of the top three longest songs in IPL history.

Gilchrist smacks century in Punjab’s big win over RCB
Praveen Kumar – 124 metres: IPL 2011

Perhaps one of the most surprising names to see on the list is that of pacer Praveen Kumar. As difficult as it may be to believe, Praveen Kumar smashed Sri Lankan legend Lasith Malinga for a massive six that measured 124 meters.

The record, created a decade ago, still stays strong as the second longest hit that the tournament has witnessed till date.

Top 10 Longest sixes of the Indian Premier League (IPL)
Albie Morkel – 125 metres: IPL 2008

Former CSK all-rounder Albie Morkel holds the record for the longest six in IPL history. The record set in the first season of the IPL still stands 14 years later.

Albie’s huge strike came off the bowling of Indian spinner Pragyan Ojha when the former delivered a clean hit over long-off measuring a mind-boggling 125 reached.

Also Read: Stranger Things Season 4: All You Need To Know , Best Chrome Extensions for Digital Marketing and SEO

Like it? Share with your friends!